CEDAW stands for “The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women”.

CEDAW is an international human rights treaty ratified by every member country of the United Nations except the United States, Sudan, South Sudan, Somalia, Iran, and two small Pacific Island nations (Palau and Tonga). Countries that ratify CEDAW agree to take concrete steps to improve the status of women and end discrimination and violence against women.

CEDAW focuses on three major issues:
  • Civil rights and the legal status of women
  • Reproductive rights
  • Cultural factors influencing gender relations

For more information on CEDAW and how you can help: